A LIVE ONLINE VIRTUAL EVENT

POWERLINE MAPPING

& INSPECTION

SEPTEMBER 3 | 2020

AGENDA AND SESSION OVERVIEW

MEDIA PARTNERS

SPONSORED BY

VIRTUAL CONFERENCE EXPERIENCE (VCX)

Geo1%20Logo%20White_edited.png
CompassData logo WHITE CLR.png
trimbleR_w_300x72px_RGB.png
Solspec logo WHITE CLR.png
GeoLearn CLR WHITE.png

A LIVE ONLINE VIRTUAL EVENT!

  • Linkedin
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

ALL TIMES ARE LISTED IN MOUNTAIN TIME ZONE (MDT) AND EASTERN TIME ZONE (EDT).

9:30AM - 9:45AM MDT | 11:30AM - 11:45AM EDT

Login/Registration

9:45AM - 10:00AM MDT | 11:45AM - 12:00PM EDT

Day 1 Welcome Kickoff

Program Moderator: Joe Paiva, CEO, GeoLearn

10:00AM - 10:45AM MDT | 12:00PM - 12:45PM EDT

Risk-based Vegetation Management with Satellite Data and AI 

Presented by: Anniek Schouten, Co-Founder and COO, Overstory

and Indra den Bakker, CEO & Co-Founder, Overstory

The interaction between vegetation and power lines comes with the risk of power outages and wildfires. While improvements have been made large challenges still exist. Vegetation information is often outdated, incomplete and very expensive to collect at scale. Luckily, technology is developing fasts: new sources of data are emerging and new methods to make sense of the huge amount of data. This talk discusses how satellite data, weather data and AI can be leveraged to better track vegetation, predict growth and prescribe action. Granular vegetation intelligence, including insight into tree species, tree vitality and height, are key in optimizing trimming cycles and for verification of trimming.

10:45AM - 11:30AM MDT | 12:45PM - 1:30PM EDT

A Proven Multi-Platform Approach to Complete Circuit Mapping

Presented by: Hayden Howard, Vice President, CompassData

and Jill Scharbarth, Solution Specialist, Cyclomedia

The accurate mapping of powerline assets and infrastructure is critical for maintaining safety and reliability and delivers value that stretches beyond compliance into operations. To ensure value is maximized through cross departmental use, a clear understanding of all the key stakeholders’ needs is imperative. This presentation will showcase how a group of dedicated professionals worked together to capture, analyze, extract, publish and integrate critical powerline data leveraging the latest imagery and LiDAR technologies and machine learning/AI – even in the most challenging environments.

Multi-platform technologies covered in this presentation: UAS/Drone, Mobile/Street Level, and Backpack Data Capture and Asset Mapping.

11:30AM - 12:15PM MDT | 1:30PM - 2:15PM EDT

Reality Captured, Intelligence Delivered

Presented by: Mike Cook, Account Manager & Lead Applications Engineer, TopoDOT, LLC

and Justin Brooks, Applied Geospatial Expert, Trimble

High fidelity 3D data is quickly becoming the standard for safer and more efficient transmission line inspections in any terrain. Trimble's Mobile Mapping platform takes field crews out of harm’s way while facilitating scalable “digital twin” collection efforts. This presentation outlines modern LiDAR solutions on the most popular Trimble Mobile platforms and their advantages compared to traditional Utility project.

12:15PM - 1:00PM MDT | 2:15PM - 3:00PM EDT

Integrating Survey and Permitting for Aerial Utilities

Presented by: Brandon Sisco, Mapping Project Manager, BPG Designs, LLC

BPG Designs has successfully transitioned from collecting aerial utilities using paper, measuring wheels, and telescoping rulers to online collections using the Bad Elf GPS Receiver, iPads, laser measurements, and an online dispatching system to streamline the process and improve efficiency while increasing data quality.  The use of the Bad Elf Surveyor has allowed field personnel to move from paper to iPads.  This transition has the benefit of working with our online application.  The online applications forces data integrity from the field, while allowing field personnel to receive their tasking without being required to go into the office.  It also allows office personnel to begin working on information from the field as soon as it’s collected.  These benefits have greatly improved the efficiency of BPG’s aerial collections. 

1:00PM - 1:45PM MDT | 3:00PM - 3:45PM EDT

Wildfire Risk Mitigation on Distribution Circuits 

Presented by: Ron Chapple, CEO & Founder, GEO1

The risk of wildfire ignition from distribution circuits is a growing concern due to the collision course of aging infrastructure, a challenging vegetation management environment, and earth change. GEO1 developed a 3 tiered approach to identify structural integrity of hardware, clash detection, and a simplified vegetation management analysis. The GEO1 methodology also delivers updated geo-positioning data for each pole. 

1:45PM - 2:30PM MDT | 3:45PM - 4:30PM EDT

Advanced Remote Sensing Technologies for Powerline Mapping

Presented by: Sam Acheson, Vice President - Operations, SolSpec

Utilities increasingly employ advanced remote sensing technologies to solve complex problems and optimize workflows. However, if significant efficiencies are to be gained, careful consideration must given to choosing the right remote sensing tools for the issue at hand. 


This talk with focus on the various methods and types of remotely sensed data acquisition and the platforms by which they are deployed. It will provide an overview of method strengths and weaknesses, as well as insights for optimizing project/program design for greater efficiencies. Attendees will leave this session understanding the remote sensing choices available to them and armed with the knowledge to choose the best technology for their specific need.
 

2:30PM - 2:45PM MDT | 4:30PM - 4:45PM EDT

Closing Remarks

Program Moderator: Joe Paiva, CEO, GeoLearn

Get early access

Get the latest news about Asset Mapping events *

ConnectMii will use your submission and/or event registration to provide you with information about upcoming mapping industry events.  We occasionally share this information with our event partners, who may use your contact information to provide you with information about their company and/or products.

© 2019 Connectmii Delaware Inc.

© 2019 Connectmii Delaware Inc.